Skip Menu

Return to Skip Menu

Main Content

Faculty

Name and Contact Information Focus Area
    Shawn Askew
Shawn Askew
Associate Professor
203 Glade Road Research Center | 540-231-5807
saskew@vt.edu
Turfgrass Weed Science, Herbicide Physiology, Herbicide-Resistant Weeds
    Jacob Barney
Jacob Barney
Associate Professor
103 Glade Road Research Center | 540-231-6323
jnbarney@vt.edu
Invasive plant ecology, biofuel ecology, allelopathy, risk assessment, weed science
    Maria Balota
Maria Balota
Associate Professor
Tidewater AREC | 757-657-6450 ext. 407
mbalota@vt.edu
Crop stress physiology, photosynthesis, respiration, and growth and development
    Anton Baudoin
Anton Baudoin
Associate Professor
417 Price hall | 540-231-5757
abaudoin@vt.edu
General plant pathology, grape diseases
    Elizabeth Bush
Elizabeth Bush
Senior Research Associate
101G Price Hall | 540-231-8020
ebush@vt.edu
Plant diagnostics, integrated pest management
    Charles Cahoon
Charles Cahoon
Assistant Professor
Eastern Shore AREC | 757-414-0724
cwcahoon@vt.edu
Weed management in staple crops
    Eva Collakova
Eva Collakova
Associate Professor
308 Latham Hall | 540-231-7867
collakov@vt.edu
Regulation of metabolism during seed filling and seed metabolic engineering, folate interconversion and photorespiration
    Jeffrey Derr
Jeffrey Derr
Professor
Hampton Roads AREC | 757-363-3912
jderr@vt.edu
Weed management in nursery crops, landscape maintenance, fruit production, and turf.
    Jonathan Eisenback
Jon Eisenback
Professor
103 Price Hall | 540-231-4650
jon@vt.edu
Plant nematology
    Michael Flessner, PhD
Michael Flessner
Assistant Professor
102-A Glade Road Resch Fac.| 540-231-2910
flessner@vt.edu
Weed extension
    Elizabeth Grabau
Elizabeth Grabau
Professor
413 Price Hall | 540-231-7876
egrabau@vt.edu
Molecular biology of soybean and peanut improvement, transgenic plants
    Ruth Grene
Ruth Grene
Professor
101H Price Hall | 540-231-6761
grene@vt.edu
Air pollution, plant metabolism, plant gene expression and regulation
    David Haak
David Haak
Assistant Professor
211 Latham Hall | 540-231-1186
dhaak@vt.edu
Evolutionary ecological genomics / genetics in plant defense and physiology
    Mary Ann Hansen
Mary Ann Hansen
Instructor
106 Price Hall | 540-231-6758
maryannh@vt.edu
Plant disease diagnostics, plant pathogens, international plant pathology
    Chuanxue Hong
Chuanxue Hong
Professor
Hampton Roads AREC | 757-363-3908
chhong2@vt.edu
Diseases of ornamentals, phytophthora, environmental plant pathology
    John Jelesko
John Jelesko
Associate Professor
548 Latham Hall | 540-231-3728
jelesko@vt.edu
Alkylphenol metabolism, and evolution of plant secondary metabolism
    Charles S. Johnson
Charles Johnson
Professor
Southern Piedmont AREC | 434-292-5331
spcdis@vt.edu
Epidemiology, crop loss assessment, tobacco & small fruit diseases
    David Langston
David Langston
Professor
Tidewater AREC | 757-657-6450
dblangston@vt.edu
Diagnosis of diseases and disorders of row crops and vegetables in southeastern Virginia
    David McCall
David McCall
Research Associate
202 Glade Road Research Center | 540-231-9598
dsmccall@vt.edu
Disease management of turfgrasses
    John M. McDowell
John McDowell
Professor
550 Latham Hall | 540-231-2388
johnmcd@vt.edu
Molecular mechanisms of disease resistance
    Hillary Mehl
Hillary Mehl
Assistant Professor
Tidewater AREC | 757-657-6450
Disease control in agronomic crops
    Mizuho Nita
Mizuho Nita
Assistant Professor
Alson H. Smith AREC | 757-363-3950
nita24@vt.edu
Grape disease epidemiology and management
    So-Yon Park
So-Yon Park
Senior Research Associate
410 Price Hall | 540-231-7132
soypark@vt.edu

Molecular mechanism of Agrobacterium-mediated transformation and Gene regulations under drought stress

    Guillaume Pilot
Guillaume Pilot
Associate Professor
206 Latham Hall | 540-231-0475
gpilot@vt.edu
Regulation of amino acid transport and metabolism
    Steven Rideout
Steven Rideout
Associate Professor
Eastern Shore AREC | 757-414-0724
srideout@vt.edu
Vegetable crop diseases
    David G. Schmale III
David Schmale
Professor
403 Latham Hall | 540-231-6943
dschmale@vt.edu
Food Safety and Plant Biosecurity, aerobiology
    Boris A. Vinatzer
Boris Vinatzer
Professor and Department Head
551 Latham Hall | 540-231-2126
vinatzer@vt.edu
Evolution and function of virulence factors in bacterial plant pathogens
    Xiaofeng Wang
Xiaofeng Wang
Assistant Professor
213 Latham Hall | 540-231-1984
reachxw@vt.edu
Viral replication and virus-host interactions of positive-strand RNA viruses
    James H. Westwood
James Westwood
Professor
401 Latham Hall | 540-231-7519
westwood@vt.edu
Parasitic weed biology and control
    Keith S. Yoder
Keith Yoder
Professor
Alson H. Smith AREC | 540-869-2560 ext. 21
ksyoder@vt.edu
Tree fruit pathology; mode of action and resistance to fungicides