Shawn Askew

Shawn Askew

Associate Professor

saskew@vt.edu
(540) 231-5807
203 Glade Road Research Center

Focus Area

Turfgrass Weed Science, Herbicide Physiology, Herbicide-Resistant Weeds

Jacob Barney

Jacob Barney

Associate Professor

jnbarney@vt.edu
(540) 231-6323
103 Glade Road Research Center

Focus Area

Invasive plant ecology, biofuel ecology, allelopathy, risk assessment, weed science

Maria Balota

Maria Balota

Associate Professor

mbalota@vt.edu
(757) 657-6450 x407
Tidewater AREC

Focus Area

Crop stress physiology, photosynthesis, respiration, and growth and development

Anton Baudoin

Anton Baudoin

Associate Professor

abaudoin@vt.edu
(540) 231-5757
417 Price Hall (0331)

Focus Area

General plant pathology, grape diseases

Shawn Askew

Elizabeth Bush

Senior Research Associate

ebush@vt.edu
(540) 231-8020
101G Price Hall (0331)

Focus Area

Plant diagnostics, integrated pest management

Charles Cahoon

Charles Cahoon

Assistant Professor

cwcahoon@vt.edu
(757) 414-0724 x13
Eastern Shore AREC

Focus Area

Weed management in staple crops

Jacob Barney

Eva Collakova

Associate Professor

collakov@vt.edu
(540) 231-7867
308 Latham Hall (0390)

Focus Area

Regulation of metabolism during seed filling and seed metabolic engineering, folate interconversion and photorespiration

Jeffrey Derr

Jeffrey Derr

Professor

jderr@vt.edu
(757) 363-3912
Hampton Roads AREC

Focus Area

Weed management in nursery crops, landscape maintenance, fruit production, and turf.

Shawn Askew

Jon Eisenback

Professor

jon@vt.edu
(540) 231-4650
103 Price Hall (0331)

Focus Area

Plant nematology

Michael Luke Flessner, Asst Professor AY, Plant Pathology, Phys, & Weed Sci.

Jacob Barney

Michael Flessner

Assistant Professor

flessner@vt.edu
(540) 231-2910
102A Glade Road Research Center

Focus Area

Weed extension

Maria Balota

Elizabeth Grabau

Professor

egrabau@vt.edu
(540) 231-3197
101E Price Hall (0331)

Focus Area

Molecular biology of soybean and peanut improvement, transgenic plants

Anton Baudoin

Ruth Grene

Professor

grene@vt.edu
(540) 231-6761
101H Price Hall (0331)

Focus Area

Air pollution, plant metabolism, plant gene expression and regulation

David C Haak, Asst Professor AY, Plant Pathology, Phys, & Weed Sci.

Shawn Askew

David Haak

Assistant Professor

dhaak@vt.edu
(540) 231-1186
211 Latham Hall (0390)

Focus Area

Evolutionary ecological genomics / genetics in plant defense and physiology

Michael Luke Flessner, Asst Professor AY, Plant Pathology, Phys, & Weed Sci.

Jacob Barney

Mary Ann Hansen

Instructor

mahansen@vt.edu
(540) 231-6758
106 Price Hall (0331)

Focus Area

Plant disease diagnostics, plant pathogens, international plant pathology

Prof. Chuanxue Hong

Maria Balota

Chuanxue Hong

Professor

chhong2@vt.edu
(757) 363-3908
Hampton Roads AREC

Focus Area

Diseases of ornamentals, phytophthora, environmental plant pathology

Anton Baudoin

John Jelesko

Associate Professor

jelesko@vt.edu
(540) 231-3728
548 Latham Hall (0390)

Focus Area

Alkylphenol metabolism, and evolution of plant secondary metabolism

David C Haak, Asst Professor AY, Plant Pathology, Phys, & Weed Sci.

Shawn Askew

Charles Johnson

Professor

spcdis@vt.edu
(434) 292-5331 x226
Southern Piedmont AREC

Focus Area

Epidemiology, crop loss assessment, tobacco & small fruit diseases

Michael Luke Flessner, Asst Professor AY, Plant Pathology, Phys, & Weed Sci.

Jacob Barney

David Langston

Professor

dblangston@vt.edu
(757) 657-6450 x410
Tidewater AREC

Focus Area

Diagnosis of diseases and disorders of row crops and vegetables in southeastern Virginia

Prof. Chuanxue Hong

Maria Balota

David McCall

Assistant Professor

dsmccall@vt.edu
(540) 231-9598
202 Glade Road Research Center

Focus Area

Disease management of turfgrasses

Anton Baudoin

John McDowell

Professor

johnmcd@vt.edu
(540) 231-2388
550 Latham Hall (0390)

Focus Area

Molecular mechanisms of disease resistance

David C Haak, Asst Professor AY, Plant Pathology, Phys, & Weed Sci.

Shawn Askew

Hillary Mehl

Assistant Professor

hlmehl@vt.edu
(757) 657-6450 x423
Tidewater AREC

Focus Area

Disease control in agronomic crops

Michael Luke Flessner, Asst Professor AY, Plant Pathology, Phys, & Weed Sci.

Jacob Barney

Mizuho Nita

Assistant Professor

nita24@vt.edu
(540) 869-2560 x33
Alson H. Smith AREC

Focus Area

Grape disease epidemiology and management

Prof. Chuanxue Hong

Maria Balota

So-Yon Park

Senior Research Associate

soypark@vt.edu
(540) 231-7132
406 Price Hall (0331)

Focus Area

Molecular mechanism of Agrobacterium-mediated transformation and Gene regulations under drought stress

Anton Baudoin

Guillaume Pilot

Associate Professor

gpilot@vt.edu
(540) 231-0475
206 Latham Hall (0390)

Focus Area

Regulation of amino acid transport and metabolism

David C Haak, Asst Professor AY, Plant Pathology, Phys, & Weed Sci.

Shawn Askew

Steven Rideout

Associate Professor

srideout@vt.edu
(757) 414-0724 x17
Eastern Shore AREC

Focus Area

Vegetable crop diseases

Michael Luke Flessner, Asst Professor AY, Plant Pathology, Phys, & Weed Sci.

Jacob Barney

David Schmale

Professor

dschmale@vt.edu
(540) 231-6943
403 Latham Hall (0390)

Focus Area

Food Safety and Plant Biosecurity, aerobiology

Prof. Chuanxue Hong

Maria Balota

Boris Vinatzer

Professor and Interim Department Head

vinatzer@vt.edu
(540) 231-2126
551 Latham Hall (0390)

Focus Area

Evolution and function of virulence factors in bacterial plant pathogens

Anton Baudoin

Xiaofeng Wang

Assistant Professor

reachxw@vt.edu
(540) 231-1868
213 Latham Hall (0390)

Focus Area

Viral replication and virus-host interactions of positive-strand RNA viruses

Michael Luke Flessner, Asst Professor AY, Plant Pathology, Phys, & Weed Sci.

Jacob Barney

James Westwood

Professor

westwood@vt.edu
(540) 231-7519
401 Latham Hall (0390)

Focus Area

Parasitic weed biology and control

Prof. Chuanxue Hong

Maria Balota

Keith Yoder

Professor

ksyoder@vt.edu
(540) 869-2560 x21
Alson H. Smith AREC

Focus Area

Tree fruit pathology; mode of action and resistance to fungicides